Ukraine

Like most of the world, I have been struggling to process everything going on in Ukraine. Once again these people are being forced from their homes because of the tyrannical oppression of another country’s leader. And like many, I feel at a loss of what I can do to help. And while books don’t make things better, they can educate us on the history of this oppressed country, buying them can help the authors there to provide something for their families, and sometimes they can give us the inspiration to find a way to help those in need. So I’ve compiled a list of books here that cover the history of Ukraine, fiction stories set there, and books written by Ukrainian authors.

These links are to my shop on bookshop.org. If you buy from there I will get a commission from your purchase. And if you buy one of these books or any other regarding Ukraine, that commission will be donated to World Central Kitchen which has been on the ground since day one giving those in Ukraine, and fleeing the most basic of needs: food and hope.

History of Ukraine:
Red Famine
The Gates of Europe
Midnight in Chernobyl
Borderland
Ukraine and Russia
In Wartime: Stories from Ukraine
The Ukrainian Night
The Ukrainian and Russian Notebooks

Stories set in Ukraine:
The Last Green Valley
My Real Name is Hanna
The White Guard
The Museum of Abandoned Secrets
I Will Die in a Foreign Land
A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian
Everything Is Illuminated

Authors from Ukraine:
This is a list of contemporary authors with a link to one of their books, others can be found on the bookshop shelves
Serhiy Zhadan
Oksana Zabuzhko
Yurii Andrukhovych
Maria Matios
Iren Rozdobudko

Thank you for joining me on a written adventure to help save some of the world. If you know of any other books that would help to educate and empower us with knowledge please let me know.

Leave a comment