Book Shopping

Can we talk for a minute about buying used books?

I love books. I love buying books. I love supporting writers. I do not love the big store prices. And as an eco-nerd, I do not love wasting things. So many times, the books I buy are used or come from a place that sells used books.

Last weekend, I popped into my favorite local thrift shop and found three books that needed a new home in my personal library. All are on my TBR, and since I was at the thrift store, I spent a grand total of $5 for them. I can tell you that two of these books have never been read. They are hardbacks with perfectly crisp spines and pages that don’t fall open, and I paid $2 each for them.

Now, I understand that I am not financially supporting authors by purchasing used books. But I also understand that buying books, especially paperbacks, for $20 is not necessarily within a person’s budget. So, if someone wants to grow or start a book collection, buying used is a great way. Especially right now, when basic necessities are expensive, buying oneself a book as a treat shouldn’t be looked down upon if it is done cheaply. And, realistically speaking, any author who isn’t Stephen King likely has another job that pays their bills, a spouse with a well-paying job, or a fellowship grant, so I don’t feel guilty about buying a used book and not financially supporting writers.

One thought on “Book Shopping

Leave a comment