Summer Reads

I read a lot more nonfiction during the summer. There’s just something about sitting outside while reading about something new that makes summer more enjoyable and relaxing for me. I have noticed lately that I keep gravitating toward memoirs and biographies when I think about what I might want to read this summer. As I look at my bookshelves, I see so many memoirs and biographies of celebrities sitting on my library wishlist in my Kindle library. On my bookshelves, so I think that this summer is going to be all about celebrity stories.

This summer, I’ll read biographies of actors, authors, politicians, chefs, and more. The last one I read was about two authors, so I think the next one should be about someone who shines in a different spotlight.

I’ve decided that I’ll start with Savor, about Fatima Ali, a rising star in the culinary world who died of cancer before her 30th birthday. She began creating this book during the last months of her life. After Fatima died, her co-writer teamed up with her mother to finish the story. It weaves Fatima’s memories, stories, and her mother’s telling of their family history. I’m only about halfway through, but learning about her family’s life in Pakistan has been fascinating, and I cannot wait to finish reading the rest of her story.

I am an affiliate member of Amazon and  bookshop.org, so any purchases through this post’s links will earn me a commission. Check out the about page for more information on that and how I get my hands on these fantastic books.

Leave a comment