Listen for the Lie

Five years ago Lucy was found on the side of the road, in the middle of the night, covered in her best friend’s blood.

Everyone in Lucy and Savvy’s small Texas town thinks that Lucy murdered Savvy. There isn’t enough evidence to prove whether she did or didn’t, and Lucy can’t remember anything from that night. The accusations broke up Lucy’s marriage, so without her best friend or husband to keep her there, Lucy decides to start over by moving to California, essentially creating a new life.

Five years ago seems like a small amount of time, but it’s long enough that a true crime podcaster is now looking into the murder for his next season. Lucy feels compelled to return to her hometown to face the past, and see if she can help to find who killed her friend, even though she knows that there’s a chance that it was actually her that committed the crime.

First, I have to thank Celedon for allowing me to read an early copy of Listen for the Lie. I appreciate your trust in me to read the book early and to give an honest review of my thoughts.

I am an affiliate member with Amazon and  bookshop.org, so any purchases through this post’s links will give me a commission back. Check out the about page for more information on that and how I get my hands on these fantastic books.

Listen for the Lie was surprisingly not as predictable as I expected it to be when I started it. In fact, the ending was nothing that I expected at all; that twist was a fantastic way to end the story. And I was very impressed with how realistically Lucy was written as a character. She is a very well-written and well-developed trauma survivor. Like most survivors, she wants the healing that comes from discovering the truth, but she also fears it. This conflict within her drives everything that she does, and you can’t help but to feel for her and attach yourself to her as the friend who wants her to know the truth.

I loved this book so much that I have already begun recommending it to friends that I know love this type of book. If you love reading crime books, or listening to true crime podcasts this book will be perfect for you.

Leave a comment